Historyshotz

If someone posts you a link to [yourusername].historyshotz.com don’t follow it. It looks like this:

Screenshot of the historyshotz fake login page.

The domain was only registered today (24th of July) and it asks for your MSN login. It lures you in with the promise of a photo from whoever send you the message, it’s a scam! If you put your details into the page it will log into MSN as you and post itself to your contact list (it probably infects you with some sort of malware if you’re vulnerable too).

25 Comments

  1. mrfatso
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    o shit, i just saw ur post today and well, my contracts send me 2 of those and i just click on them and didn’t know what the hell was it…. Thanks for the warning

  2. Posted July 24, 2008 at 10:39 am | Permalink

    Hmm. I just received message too from my friend with my name there. Thanks for the info.

  3. word up
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 10:55 am | Permalink

    yeah word man…
    but i never click on links like that anymore!
    particularily when its from an offline contact!
    peace!

  4. shiftee
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 12:01 pm | Permalink

    I also just received this. Didn’t click it, though. They’re gonna be aggregating a shit-ton of MSN login details with this.

  5. notInfected
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 1:37 pm | Permalink

    Nothing will happend if I just click on the link, correct?

  6. Posted July 24, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    I can’t say for certain that nothing will happen, but I _think_ that it’s just an MSN login phishing scam. Looking through the Javascript on the popup generating frame, it appears that it’s something to do with the people that also run awesomeoffers dot info, another phishing site.
    If you have logged into one of these sites, I would recommend you change your MSN password ASAP.
    T

  7. Bla
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 1:48 pm | Permalink

    Gosh what guys really thenk you for the advice

  8. Sarah
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 2:15 pm | Permalink

    ah! i LOGGED ON, but i quickly closed it when I realized something ‘weird’ was going on, it did log on but the page didn’t fully load before I closed it……does this mean I’m doomed with viruses and horrible spam email?!?!?!

  9. notInfected
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 2:31 pm | Permalink

    well… I don’t think I logged but thanks. I hope I’m secured.

  10. Posted July 24, 2008 at 2:46 pm | Permalink

    @Sarah, the chances are you details were probably received by their server. I would change your MSN password just in case. One way to see if your details were stolen is to ask people on your contact list whether they received a URL from you earlier.

  11. Posted July 24, 2008 at 3:09 pm | Permalink

    Does this mean the person that sent is is trying to scam me?? I received the URL in an instant message. I never put the person on my contact list but he some how is now on my list. What can I do?? Help!

  12. Posted July 24, 2008 at 3:45 pm | Permalink

    @Nancy, the person who the message came from isn’t trying to scam you. THEY have themselves been scammed, the scammers log in as them and send messages to everyone in their contact list.
    The person who sent you the message must have you on their list.

  13. Posted July 24, 2008 at 4:18 pm | Permalink

    Oh! Thanks

  14. Posted July 24, 2008 at 4:37 pm | Permalink

    I thinks it really great how proactive you are! I sent emails to all my friends warning them but seeing that I didn’t log in I don’t think they have to worry. I’m definetly going to tell them about this site too!!

  15. Posted July 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm | Permalink

    ahhhh,i logged into it and the page loaded but then i exited it.
    then i changed my password right away,but it said after i clicked on the page “you are signed in on a different computer”
    OH NO.
    i changed my password,then i signed out then signed back in so if they are on my account it signs them out.
    am i gonna be okay?
    are they gonna hack into my other stuff to?becase i use that password for eevrything ):

  16. Geocara
    Posted July 24, 2008 at 4:54 pm | Permalink

    I just got a link with my name on a moment ago from a contact that was offline. I clicked on it and thought….okay? I didn’t put in my details though and instead investigated what it was and found this warning! thank you! What really SCARES me though is that it came through the contact that I mostly interact with on msn above others. How did it get into my msn and how did it know that that is the contact that I would most likely interact with???

  17. Posted July 24, 2008 at 5:05 pm | Permalink

    the person i got it from was also offline!

  18. Posted July 24, 2008 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    im really scared of what is gonna happen to my other account with the same password as that,
    one important question,WHAT IS THE WORSE THAT THEY CAN DO?

    that is my question.

  19. Posted July 24, 2008 at 5:13 pm | Permalink

    one more question,sorry.
    so whoever sent you the link,have there information to the page,and got hacked or whatever?

  20. Posted July 24, 2008 at 7:08 pm | Permalink

    @shannon: Since you’ve changed your password you should be OK. As for other accounts, they should be alright but it is generally advisable to use different passwords for your accounts (this is a good example of why).
    I’d guess the worse they could do is log into your hotmail and delete everything, that’d be the worse they could do for me, most other things are repairable. (Unless they email your boss and get you fired, but that’s very unlikely :) )

    @Geocara: I don’t think it selects the people you talk to the most, it was probably just a coincidence. The person I got the message off was someone I had not spoken to for a while, and Nancy (above) didn’t even have the person on her list.

    I’m no expert, but I’d assume that whoever you get these messages from also fell for the same trick. I have no idea how it would have started though, probably just randomly sending messages to people.

  21. Posted July 25, 2008 at 2:24 pm | Permalink

    I received the message and was about to click, cos it uses my name in front and notice something really fishy when i check their status.

    Thanks for the head-up.

  22. Josh
    Posted July 25, 2008 at 3:33 pm | Permalink

    Yay Firefox 3

  23. Posted July 25, 2008 at 3:52 pm | Permalink

    kako si

  24. James
    Posted July 25, 2008 at 4:41 pm | Permalink

    @tub It was probably started by the hackers infecting themselves as they would know how to “cure” it – then it spreads round once they start getting meesages back they clean their comp and there you go it’s started…

  25. stef
    Posted July 27, 2008 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    i was so careless that i gave the Id & password, my msn has sent the link to some of my friends when i was off-line. is there any solutions?

2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] Info yang saya dapet pertama dari 55th.co.uk. [...]

  2. By New MSN Spam "virus" warning - MacTalk Forums on July 24, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    [...] OSX (which, lets face it.. is actuallly likely on a forum like this), this is the same screenshot: 55th blog Blog Archive Historyshotz Spread the word [...]

Post a Comment

Your email is never shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*